Roasted Salmon with Dill Yogurt Sauce and Cauliflower Steaks

IMG_0113

I always try to start my week off  with  a healthy meal, especially after an indulgent weekend. My weekends usually consist of trying new restaurants with girlfriends, at least one boozy brunch, and typically a Bears or Broncos gathering for Sunday football. I also try to throw in a barre or yoga class on Saturday mornings, but that all depends on how much fun I had on Friday night! This past weekend included tapas and sangria at Cafe Ba Ba Reeba, cocktails and small plates at Pump Room, and sushi at a local joint in Lincoln Park. Hence, it’s time for some low-carb, clean eating!

I haven’t eaten fish until recently. I always hated the texture and thought everything tasted “fishy.” I’m now realizing how much I have missed out on! When it comes to salmon, I prefer a mild catch, like the Icelandic salmon at Whole Foods. It’s a bit pricey, but it’s certainly worth it! My friend Maddi first introduced me to salmon with a creamy dill sauce, and I couldn’t stop eating it! I give major props to her and Martha Stewart for this outstanding salmon recipe. I served cauliflower steaks with roasted tomatoes and capers on the side. I usually make small portions, but for larger groups or families, it’s easy to double or triple the recipe.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 4 oz. Icelandic salmon fillets
  • 1/2 cup Fage 2% Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons fresh dill (it’s very important to use fresh, not dried), plus sprigs for serving
  • 2 tablespoons parsley (fresh or dried)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Lemon wedges for serving

Directions:

Combine yogurt, mustard, dill, parsley, lemon juice, and garlic; season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, or overnight. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place salmon on a greased baking sheet. Top generously with yogurt sauce. Roast 8-9 minutes. Sprinkle fresh dill sprigs on top and serve with lemon wedges.

IMG_0109

Ingredients:

  • 1 large head of cauliflower, sliced into 1/4-1/2 inch slices
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes
  • 1-2 tablespoons capers
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • Salt and fresh ground pepper
  • Lemon wedges for serving

Directions:

Toss all ingredients together. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Roast 15-20 minutes. Squeeze fresh lemon on top.

IMG_0108

One thought on “Roasted Salmon with Dill Yogurt Sauce and Cauliflower Steaks

Leave a Reply

